Archive for Birding Festivals

Aug
02

Lectures and Field Trips in August

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Lectures and Field Trips in August

Tucson Rudasill front yard

August is the classic time to visit southeast Arizona. The monsoons have cooled the air and greened the desert, and all the late summer breeders are singing, the “Mexican” specialties are fledging young, and northern migrants are passing through in large numbers. As if that weren’t enough, August is high season for vagrants from the Pacific and from Middle America. Who knows what this year will turn up?

There are plenty of opportunities to help me explore my favorite landscapes on earth. Why not come along?

Thursday, August 4, 6:00 am

Fort Huachuca Birds and History, with Tom Wood

Elegant Trogon Huachuca May 2007 013

Friday, August 5, 3:00 pm

Book signing, Cochise College

5:00 pm

Sparrow Tales: Discovering Brown Birds

rufous-winged sparrow

Saturday, August 6, 6:00 am

A Day with Rick Wright

Dragoons

Sunday, August 7, 6:00 pm

Boyce-Thompson Bird Sit with Rick Wright

Boyce Thompson landscape

Monday, August 8, 6:30 am

Boyce-Thompson Bird Walk with Rick Wright

January 9, 2007, Boyce Thompson 023

Thursday, August 11, 10:30 am

Museum Birding: From the Specimen Drawer to the Field

trop cass west thick billed left to right West Mexican Birds, museum skins 038

Thursday, August 11, 5:00 pm

Book Signing: ABA Field Guide to Birds of Arizona

Rick signing books at Cape May

Friday, August 12, 5:00 am

California Gulch, with Jake Mohlmann

California Gulch

Saturday, August 13, 10:30 am

Museum Birding: From the Specimen Drawer to the Field

white striped and ivory billed woodcreepers West Mexican Birds, museum skins 030

Monday, August 15, 6:30 pm

The Most Beautiful of the Whole Beautiful Lot: Birding Southeast Arizona

Lowland Painted Redstart Sabino / Bear Canyon IBA April 16 2007 015

Tuesday, August 16, 5:00 am

The East Chiricahuas

Pinery Canyon

Wednesday, August 17, 5:00 am

The East Chiricahuas

Portal, Arizona, landscape

Thursday, August 18, 5:00 am

The East Chiricahuas

Portal, Arizona, August

Friday, August 19, 5:00 am

The East Chiricahuas

Yellow-eyed Junco

Saturday, August 20, 5:00 am

The East Chiricahuas

gray hawk

Share
Comments Comments Off on Lectures and Field Trips in August
Aug
18

A Painted Redstart Takes a Dip

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on A Painted Redstart Takes a Dip

Even at 7000 feet, it was warm last week in Arizona. If you want to see how a painted redstart deals with the heat, click on the photo.

Painted redstart, Arizona, August

Share
Comments Comments Off on A Painted Redstart Takes a Dip

 Subscribe in a reader

Nature Blog Network